Thanks For You Infromative Articel. Who Woud Have Thought It Was This Easey.

One of exciting aspects about writing a blog is seeing how many people have visited it. We all seek gratification from the public eye, and bloggers can measure that by looking at their Site Stats and seeing first hand what your content is doing to your traffic. Lately, my content has been affecting the traffic here quite a bit. And this is good. Not just good, but anticipated. After a while, this anticipation turns into expectation, which is fine also, as long as you don’t get the Big Head and get upset because no one visited your blog on a given day.

There are side-effects to providing content that gets you more traffic. Yesterday, around noon CST, I noticed my blog received three hits. Pretty good, considering the only thing I posted in the last twenty-four hours was my article pimping Stephen Graham Jones’s interview. (And if I’m not supposed to put an apostrophe with Jones’s last name to make it possessive, oh well, this is a BLOG, not a composition paper or a piece of fiction I’m submitting for publication.) Three hits, yet 56 comments in my spam folder.

Surely a few of those comments were from legitimate people, right? Out of 56, I figured ten were from legitimate, REAL people wanting to make a comment about something in my article. This blog is powered by WordPress, which suits my purposes excellently, even letting me know I have comments to moderate by sending me an email. All Blogs have this notification system.

Out of the 56 Spam comments, guess how many email notifications WordPress sent me. That’s right. Wait for it. None. All 56 comments were legitimately Spam. I read through all of them. They weren’t just comments on post either. The Spam bots (yep, bots, because we know no human being is going to sit around and type in comments on blogs unless they want a response, right?) made comments on all sorts of threads here. Usually the comments fall into the very common ‘I nevre knew, thses coud b so easy, many thanks’ variety, with a few falling into the ‘Very informative articel, I will share this with all my family. Great knowledge’ category as well. And yes, I’m spelling the words exactly like I see them in the Spam folder.

Did anyone human actually read the article? Seriously, the post I made about The Dark Knight Rising movie poster, which was nothing more than a fucking picture of the movie poster, actually made a difference in your life and you felt compelled to type a comment about it?

Not. Human.

Where am I going with all this? It’s simple really. With great popularity comes great spamsibility. I know, I know. It sounds like something you’ve heard before, it’s like right there on the tip of your tongue. It sounds familiar to me too, and my spidey sense tells me that maybe it came from a movie or something, I don’t know. With great popularity comes great spamsibility. Remember this. I like seeing 56 comments in my comment folder, as long as they are from REAL, living breathing people. Spam is not people. It is a canned meat product that tastes good when fried with cheese and that’s it, period, end of discussion.

A Fed-Ex box came in the mail today from Caleb J. Ross. I was expecting a big eighteen wheeler backing up to the front door to prepare for his guest blog tomorrow, and instead I get a box. And what’s the big deal with duct-taping a battery operated alarm clock to four sticks of dynamite? Naw, just kidding. About the alarm clock. Caleb will be here tomorrow, all day long, and I’m sure everything is going to be just fine.

What does C-4 mean? Guess I’ll have to Google it. 

7 responses to “Thanks For You Infromative Articel. Who Woud Have Thought It Was This Easey.

  1. Thanks man. I think I’m going to approve every Spam comment on this article so that maybe some Human who controls the Spam bots will see it. Spell Checker is your friend, it makes the red lines go away.

  2. The only other comments I’ve had on this post is some goober trying to sell me a WordPress SEO program. Cool. I’ve got the first ten pages when searching my name with Google (thanks to my very rare last name, no doubt), so I really don’t think I need to pay $45.00/year to maximize my SEO, just saying.

  3. GREAT REVIEW! I totally agree with all you said in your article, especially at the middle of your article. Thank you, this info is very useful as always. Keep up the good work! You’ve got +1 more reader of your blog:) Isabella S.

    • So glad you found this article informative. I agree, an article about spambots replying to articles is fascinating. I’m sorry it’s taken you so long to find this important information, and if I would have known that your life long search for this information was so important to you, I wouldn’t have held on to it for so long. Shame on me for being so selfish with information that is so important, and information that should be given away.

Leave a Reply

