Blood Junkies-Progress Report

Progress on converting my novel into a series of novellas is moving along. The ride is a little bumpy, which I expected. Add in that all important question of ‘am I doing the right thing’ and the paranoia starts to set in. Honestly, I’m not sure if I’m doing the right thing. But I’m also tired of second guessing myself, over-analyzing, worrying and wondering. Those normal feelings stop progress in its tracks. I am a train, rolling along the tracks.

My destination: Publication on Amazon.

Part of maintaining this blog is tracking my progress with my writing projects. This will be a six or seven part process, depending on how many chapters I need for this novella. Part one, or Chapter One, is done. I’ll be sending it off to my group at Write Club 2011, hopefully tonight. While they are ripping it apart, I’ll be working on Chapter Two. I’m on vacation the second week of May, and my goal during that week is to 1) revise Chapter One, based of suggestions from my group, and 2) complete Chapter’s Three and Four. I’m hoping that by the end of July, I’ll have a complete draft that will be edited by myself line by line, and if money permits, edited professionally or at least proofread by a professional. 

These novellas are part of a series. There will be one character that will be present through most of the books, but the main character is really the world I’m creating. Series are usually about characters, but that isn’t a steadfast rule. The world I’m creating, a world that will change from one end of the spectrum to the other, is really the main character. The world starts off much like our own, but like any good character, it changes, which creates unique and challenging dynamics for the characters that inhabit my world. 

The ultimate goal is to have the book published online by the Fall. Money is not the objective here. Building my platform, creating my fan base, finding my readers–these are my objectives. By self-publishing these novellas, I’m taking on every single aspect of the publication process, and frankly, I’m not sure I know exactly what all that involves. 

I’m about to find out.

Who knows, I may love the process, find it easy, or just prefer to do it all myself. That would be great. I may also find the process tedious and counterproductive to what I really want to do, which is write. 


Leave a Reply

