New, Old Project

I’ve spent the last year and a half, maybe longer, with my current novel. There have been a few short stories here and there, but for the most part, its been the novel. Reviewing sections I’ve written last year makes me wince. With writers, you reach plateaus by writing and reading, and the progression is not in equal increments, but more of a leaps and bounds kind of thing. Not trying to brag here, but I just think I can do better than what I wrote last year. There are so many ideas I want to incorporate in my revisions it’s making my head hurt. So I’ve decided that maybe it would be best to step away from the rewriting and work on something else for a while. I’m sure I’m not the first, and maybe I needed to take some time away from it initially before immediately cranking out a rewrite once I finished the first draft.

So, I’m changing my project. The new project, Sirens, is one I’m really excited about. One reason is that it’s not entirely new, it’s something I’ve been kinda working on for a while. I pretty much have the whole story mapped out and a few chapters already written. Secondly, it’s kind of a departure from what I usually write in that it’s like a fantasy/science fiction hybrid that takes place in an alternate reality. Frankly, I’m pretty excited.

I will not be posting entire chapters here to read, but I will be updating my progress as the story unfolds. I’m kind of leary of copywrite issues by posting it up here for the whole world to read and possibly steal, though the stealing thing does happen. It’s rare, but it happens.

So, what about my old vampire story? I’m sure it will rear it’s ugly head at me in a few months and beg me to take it to the dance. But for now, I’m going to leave that girl sitting at the table, all alone.

Leave a Reply

